Filtering

Filtering Options

The filter bar is one of the key options in PhotoPhile. It lets you find your photos easily, and is also the base of the Publisher feature which works to send chosen photos to online services. Even so, filters are simple to create and use.

Creating a Temporary Filter

To open the filter bar, where all types of filter are created, tap the “Filters” button on the grid toolbar. A new panel will open at the bottom of the screen.

The Filter Bar with nothing defined.

The Filter Bar with nothing defined.

At first the filter panel is empty. To add filter items, tap the “Add” button. You will be able to pick from a list of metadata items to add to the filter. A filter can have any number of conditions added, to create more complex filters. As an example, tap “ISO” to add a condition for the ISO value of your photos. A list will be added to the main section of the filter bar.

This list contains the ISO values of all the currently shown photos. If you change the currently selected collection at this point, the lists will change too. To start defining your filter, tap and select the items in the list that you want your filter to show. For example, if you want to show only photos with ISO 100 or 200, tap the items in the list for 100 and 200. Remember that the items in the list are based on the current photos in the grid, so if the items you want aren’t listed then select a collection that has more photos.

As you change the selections in the filter, the grid is automatically updated to show the results.

The Filter Bar with some filter conditions defined.

To hide the filter bar, tap the “Done” button. The “Filters” item on the grid toolbar will turn green to show that a filter is active. You can edit the filter at any time by tapping the “Filters” button again. Adding more conditions is a simple case of tapping the “Add” button again.

Removing a Filter Condition

To remove a filter condition, tap the red X button for the condition you want to remove.

Saving a Filter

Once you have a useful filter defined, you can save it so that you don’t have to redefine it every time you want to use it. Open the filter bar and define the conditions of the filter that you want to save. If you have already defined the filter, just re-open the filter bar by tapping the “Filters” button on the grid toolbar.

Next tap on “Save”. Enter a name for the filter and tap “OK”. The filter will be saved.

To use the filter, open the Collections panel to the left of the grid and scroll down to the “Active Filters” section. Your filter will be listed there. To re-apply it, just tap on the filter name.

There is a setting which controls what happens when you select a new filter. Most filters can be applied to any collection, so you can choose whether to do this or to automatically select the top-level collection whenever a new filter is selected. This setting is called “Preset Filters go to root”, in the General section of the Settings tab. This effectively selects whether you apply a filter to the current collection, or to all photos you have. You can change the collection anytime by just selecting a different collection.

Changing Saved Filters

Once you have a filter saved, you can rename it or delete it by tapping on the action menu for that filter.

You can also change the conditions of the filter. Select it and then open the Filter Bar again. Now you can use the same Add and Delete buttons that you used before to change the conditions. When you have redefined the filter as you want it, tap “Save” in the Filter Bar and the filter will be updated.

Publishing a Filter

Once a filter has been defined, you can use it to create a Publisher. This is a filter, either static or dynamic, which is set to upload photos to a web service. You can set this to upload automatically or manually. For full details of how to control the upload conditions, please see the Uploaders section of the manual. Essentially, a publisher is a filter combined with one or more uploaders.

A publisher tracks which photos have already been uploaded and will not normally try to re-send a photo once it has been sent successfully. It won’t try to delete photos from the upload service.

To add an uploader to a filter, tap the action menu for the filter and select the “Uploaders” option. You will be given a list of uploaders to choose from. You can add as many uploaders as you like to a single filter, and each uploader can have its own rules. Where you have more than one uploader defined, photos will be sent to all of the uploaders. PhotoPhile will retry uploads until they have succeeded.

Once an uploader has been added to a filter, it will be moved to the Publishers section of the collections panel. It can still be used, renamed, edited and deleted as normal. It will now have extra options on the action menu. “Set Auto Upload” or “Set Manual Upload” change the publisher between manual and automatic upload modes. In automatic mode, and new photos are sent immediately to the upload services you have chosen. In manual mode, nothing is sent until you choose the other new option on the action menu – “Upload Now”.

Force a Re-publish

The Filter Action Menu

The Filter Action Menu

Normally a publisher will not re-send a photo to an upload service once it has been sent. You can force a publisher to re-send photos, or not to send photos that it thinks should be sent, using the grid’s Actions menu.

Select the publisher that you want to change, and the photos that belong to to that publisher will be shown in the grid. Select the photos that you want to send or prevent from being sent and tap the Actions button on the right-hand side of the grid toolbar. When a publisher is selected, this menu will have two extra options – “Mark as Published”, which tells the publisher not to send a photo, and “Mark as To Publish” which tells the publisher that a photo needs to be re-sent.