Settings

Settings

This page provides a summary of the various settings that you can change, which control how PhotoPhile works.

General
Read photos from Photos App Choose whether PhotoPhile shows albums and photos from your iPad’s Photos app. If you intend only to use PhotoPhile with Adobe Lightroom and you have a large number of other photos already on your iPad, switching this off can speed things up.
Deselect all others on double-tap When you double-tap a photo in the grid you are taken to the slideshow. This setting controls whether other photos are de-selected first. All selected photos are sent to the slideshow, so this effectively controls whether a double-tap sends one photo or many.
Auto-hide Collections When you tap on a collection or filter in the Collections tab, the tab can be automatically closed for you. This option lets you choose whether the tab is automatically closed or not.
Information Display Type The Info Panel on the right-hand side of the grid shows details of your photos. This switch controls whether it shows the details for the last photo that was tapped, or the merged details of all currently-selected photos.
Grid Image Scale The thumbnail images in the grid can have their size changed here. It is usually easier to use the pinch gesture in the grid directly though, because then you can see exactly what size the thumbnails will be.
Preset Filters go to Root This option controls the selection of collections when you tap a filter in the Collections tab. Most filters can be applied to any collection at any time. This control sets whether, when a filter is applied by tapping on it, the collection stays as it current is or if the top-level collection (All Photos) is automatically selected for you.
The exception to this is where the filter selects one or more collections itself. In this case, the top-level collection is always selected to allow the filter to work as expected.
Set label on changed photos when syncing When you sync changed metadata back to Lightroom, you can choose to automatically set a label on any photo which has changed. This can be used to mark changed photos in Lightroom in a way which makes it easy to find them. However, since a photo can only have one label assigned to it, this will also overwrite any label you may have set. Leave this box empty to leave existing labels untouched.
Slideshow Options
Airplay Screen Most iPad models support AirPlay, where the screen is sent over WiFi to an AirPlay-capable device. There is software available for both Windows and Mac which them to work as AirPlay devices.
PhotoPhile gives you several options for what to send to an AirPlay device, instead of simply mirroring the iPad’s current display.
Choose here between:

  • Last Selected Photo
  • All Selected Photos
  • Mirror Device
Show Flag Controls Use this to show or hide the Flag controls in the Slideshow’s toolbar.
Show Star Controls Use this to show or hide the Star controls in the Slideshow’s toolbar.
Show Label Controls Use this to show or hide the Label controls in the Slideshow’s toolbar.
Allow Comment Editing Normally, a long tap on a photo in the slideshow pops up a box that lets you edit captions and comments. Disable the comment editor using this option.
Allow Caption Editing Normally, a long tap on a photo in the slideshow pops up a box that lets you edit captions and comments. Disable the caption editor using this option.
Show new photos immediately As new photos are received from an Eye-Fi device you can choose to show the photo full-screen automatically.
Slideshow Delay This slider controls the time in seconds between each photo when the slideshow is playing.
Information Window Visibility If you tap on the small “i” button in the slideshow toolbar, an overlay appears with information about the current photo. This slider controls how transparent that overlay is.
Help Pages
All Options The first time each tab is opened, a help page is displayed. You can choose to hide these pages in future. If you want to see them again, disable the appropriate “Hide” option here.
Eye-Fi Setup
Enable Eye-Fi Server This switches the Eye-Fi server feature on and off.
Store Eye-Fi photos in Camera Roll Choose whether to store incoming photos in the Camera Roll, or within PhotoPhile.
Files to Accept If you have a ProX2 card, PhotoPhile can tell the card that it will only accept particular filetypes. Mobi cards are only able to send JPEG files.
Folder Structure Choose from several different folder layouts which include the card name and date. Albums or Collections are created automatically as new photos arrive.
Geotag Eye-Fi Photos As new photos arrive, they can have the iPad’s current location added. This works regardless of the type of Eye-Fi card.
Geotag Accuracy Geotagging needs the use of the iPad’s Location Services. Enabling this will mean that the iPad will switch on it’s GPS or, if it has none, the WiFi radio, to track it’s current location. This will mean extra power consumption. Increased accuracy means that it needs to update it’s position more frequently, so more power is needed. Use this option to choose how accurate your location is, and therefore how much power is used.
Uploaders
Each uploader has its own configuration options. However, some options are shared between them all. For full details of the individual uploader settings, please see the Uploaders manual.
Service This is the name that will be used for the particular uploader. Each uploader type can have many different groups of settings.
Enabled Choose whether the particular uploader configuration is enabled or not.
Send Over Controls the network type for this uploader. You may wish, for example, not to have uploaders sending large photos over a cellular connection. Choose between “WiFi” and “Any”.
Image Type Choose whether to send the original photo, a screen-scale JPEG or a a screen-scale JPEG with a watermark of your choice.
Watermark Tap the black box to choose an image to use as a watermark when the “Image Type” setting is set to “Watermarked JPEG”. You can use JPEG or PNG; PNG is preferred because it has better control of transparency.
Tap the red button to remove a watermark.