Uploaders

Uploaders

PhotoPhile will let you send your photos, or smaller versions of them, to online services. This can be set up to upload automatically or manually for a filter, or manually by selecting photos. No matter how you choose to upload photos, you will need to define one or more uploaders.

Currently four upload services are available, with more planned. These cover plain FTP, Dropbox, Flickr and Google Drive. Every upload service (for example, Dropbox) can have several different configurations saved, each of which is usable as a separate upload service. This lets you create different services with different settings.

All the uploaders are created on the Settings page.

Uploader Configuration

Uploader Configuration

Create an Uploader

Althout each uploader has different options, they all have some shared features. each has the basic options on the left with a list of uploaders on the right. Initially these lists will be empty.

To add a new uploader, tap the “Add” button beneath the list. Make sure the new uploader is selected to enable the controls on the left of the uploader panel.

Shared options

Each uploader should have a unique name, something short but meaningful. This name will be used in menus and lists. This is the “Service” option.

Next, you can choose to enable or disable individual upload services. This can be used to simplify the upload menus in the grid, or to prevent a publisher which is set to upload automatically from sending photos to this service temporarily.

“Send Over” controls which type of network the uploader is meant to use. Choose between “WiFi” and “All”. You can use this to prevent uploaders from sending large, full-size raw images over a cellular connection.

“Image Type” sets the type of file that gets uploaded. This can be set to “Original”, which sends the original file untouched, or two types of JPEG. The JPEGs are reduced-size copies of the original file and you can choose to have a watermark applied by selecting “Watermarked JPEG”. The watermark is chosen by tapping the “Watermark” box. This will let you choose a photo in the iPad’s Camera Roll to use as a watermark. You can use PNG or JPEG as a watermark image, but PNG is more flexible because it supports full transparency. The watermark is applied to your photo using whatever transparency the watermark has. JPEG files only support two levels of transparency – full or none – while PNG supports fully variable transparency which lets bits of your watermark be anything from fully transparent to fully visible and everything between.

When PhotoPhile is running as a free demo, all photos will be uploaded as watermarked JPEGs and only one uploader is allowed.

Service-specific Options

Each of the included uploader types has options which are specific to that uploader type.

FTP

To create an FTP uploader you need to provide the FTP username and password, and the address of the server. This can be an IP address or a server name. Once you have entered these, you can tap the folder icon to pick a folder from the FTP server. Picking a folder will only work if you are online and your username, password and server address are correct. Any problems during login will be reported when you tap the folder icon.

Dropbox

The Dropbox uploader can only be used with one Dropbox account at a time. Before you can use it you will need to log in to your Dropbox account with the “Login” button. You will be taken to the Dropbox app, or the Dropbox website, to log in and to give PhotoPhile permission to access your account. Once you have done this, PhotoPhile will be able to upload photos to your account.

You can remove this permission from the Dropbox website, or by tapping “Logout” in the uploader settings panel.

Once you have logged in to Dropbox and given your permission for PhotoPhile to access your account, you can choose which folder to upload into using the folder icon. You need to be online for this to work.

Flickr

The Flickr uploader can only be used with one Flickr account at a time. Before you can use it you will need to log in to your Flickr account with the “Login” button. You will be taken to the Flickr website, to log in and to give PhotoPhile permission to access your account. Once you have done this, PhotoPhile will be able to upload photos to your account.

You can remove this permission from the Flickr website, or by tapping “Logout” in the uploader settings panel.

Once you have logged in to Flickr and given your permission for PhotoPhile to access your account, you can choose which folder to upload into using the folder icon. You need to be online for this to work.

Google Drive

The Google uploader can only be used with one Google account at a time. Before you can use it you will need to log in to your Google account with the “Login” button. You will be taken to the Google website, to log in and to give PhotoPhile permission to access your account. Once you have done this, PhotoPhile will be able to upload photos to your account.

You can remove this permission from the Google website, or by tapping “Logout” in the uploader settings panel.

Once you have logged in to Google and given your permission for PhotoPhile to access your account, you can choose which folder to upload into using the folder icon. You need to be online for this to work.